I routinely perform a "Backup Complete Configuration" to save as a backup. I've noticed the file is getting bigger and bigger each time. I opened the XML file in Notepad and scrolled through. There are servers listed in the XML file that were deleted years ago. Is there a way to purge out the old information from the database? We add and remove servers from the monitoring frequently, and even though the old servers don't appear in my monitoring list, they are still listed in the config export.

asked 02 Dec '15, 16:00

ZebM's gravatar image

ZebM
111
accept rate: 0%


Hi ZebM

What version of the product are you using?

Have you tried re-starting your service to see if that clears the deleted servers form your export file?

Also, in the PA Server MonitorConfigBackup folder you will find that the service exports daily a complete config file without user & passwords information. This may be very useful for you so that you don't have to do the export yourself. If you open the Backup1.axml file do you see those deleted server names?

Thanks
Quinn

Please make sure to mark your questions accepted when you have your answer by clicking the gray check mark to the left of the answer.

link

answered 02 Dec '15, 16:45

Quinn's gravatar image

Quinn ♦♦
14.4k3925
accept rate: 35%

Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or _italic_
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Tags:

×3
×3
×1

Asked: 02 Dec '15, 16:00

Seen: 3,230 times

Last updated: 02 Dec '15, 16:45